Lemon Drizzle cake

DSC08728

I have a wonderful friend who regularly invites me round for dinner. I haven’t got the space to return the invite, so I take pudding instead. Yesterday I wanted to make something a bit more summery for the warmer weather, so I made a lemon drizzle cake, something I used to make quite often. I used a basic recipe I found written out in my recipes folder, it’s been there a while so I’ve got no idea where is came from originally. The amounts are fairly small so it doesn’t make a large cake, but it was tasty šŸ™‚

Ingredients:DSC08704
100g butter (or I used sunflower spread to keep it milk free)
150g castor sugar (100g for the cake, 50g for the drizzle)
1 lemon, grated and juiced
1 egg (whisked)
100g self-raising flour

Makes about 8 decent slices

Method:

Preheat oven to 180C/ gas mark 4.

Grease an 18cm loaf tin.

Heat the butter in a pan with 100g of the sugar until melted.

DSC08705

Take the pan off the heat and add the grated lemon rind.

DSC08707

Put the egg and flour in a large bowl, add the melted butter and sugar, and mix. Basically just turn all of the ingredients into a smooth batter, mine stated out a bit lumpy so I whisked it slightly with a fork.

DSC08710

Pour the mix into the prepared tin.

DSC08712

Bake for about 30 minutes.

Leave the cake in the tin once it’s cooked, we need to add the drizzle.

DSC08717

Heat the remaining sugar in a pan with the lemon juice to form a syrup.

I just heated it until all of the sugar had dissolved and the mixture started to bubble and thicken slightly.

DSC08721

Prick the cake with a fork. This allows the drizzle to soak into the sponge, making the top sticky and moist. This step can be done while the syrup is heating.

DSC08720

Then drizzle on the sugar syrup. Try to cover the cake evenly. The syrup usually runs to the edges but the tin can be tipped to move it around if needed.

DSC08722

Leave the cake to cool in the tin. This gives the drizzle time to soak into the cake and get delicious.
Remove from tin to serve (Warning: it’s sticky!)

DSC08727

The cake was a success šŸ™‚ Although it didn’t rise much, the texture was good, the top was moist and very lemony, and someone had seconds.

Best eaten with a fork and with friends.

One thought on “Lemon Drizzle cake

Leave a Reply

