Upcycled coffee table

I got this coffee table from the BHF furniture charity shop a couple of weeks ago. I got a few funny looks carrying it home, but I’ve been really wanting something to put my drinks on while I lounge on the sofa…

The original plan was for a shabby chic sanded corners look, but of course I got the wrong paint and it looked terrible when I tried so it’s now just a plain white. All I really did in the end was paint it, but the table was so knocked around before that it didn’t take much to improve it. And with the corners being battered, sanding them down to show an extra colour really just showed the dents! It looks bright and clean now so I’m not too disappointed, and my real focus was the top anyway.

DSC00306 DSC00321DSC00369 DSC00370 DSC00374Ā DSC00376

I’ve been looking for a while for a coffee table with a glass top to display my growing stamp collection (14 years of pen friends and a year of Postcrossing adds up to a lot of stamps!). I didn’t realise until I got home that the glass is smoked but it works šŸ™‚ There are stamps from 46 different countries on there, all except for 2 that I’ve received myself (Fiji and the old Isle of Man stamp if you’re interested). They’re lightly stuck on to a piece of picture mounting board cut to shape using the glass as a template. It should be easy to change them around when I get any particularly nice new stamps arrive.

I’ve already added some books to the shelf, but I’m going to try not to dump too much stuff on it, it took a long time to sort out the best stamps and how to display them!

DSC00377

3 thoughts on “Upcycled coffee table

Leave a Reply

