Travel wallet – first attempt

My travel envelope broke recently so I thought I’d make a new one. I then thought it would make a nice Mother’s Day gift! I looked at a few pictures, did a vague measurement off my passport and some A4 paper so all my documents would fit, and just went for it with the pockets. I also tried out my freehand embroidery on the front for some decoration.

image

I had some sudden inspiration and stayed up late sewing – never a very good idea, it resulted in lots of unpicking before I decided to give up for the night… And I then spotted several issues this morning which were too late to solve. I got a right angle out to make things straight and it’s still wonky! And it’s really floppy which might not work, I used some light interfacing but it’s nowhere near enough. So it looks nice but I’m not sure how practical it is.

image

image

I’m still loving the hammer on press fasteners 🙂

I’m planning to try again for myself. I’ve got some faux leather and fabric from a long ago holiday which might make a nice combination, and maybe some tougher interfacing.

I’ve got another gift idea too which I might try next. Maybe I’ll send this off as well to be trialed but I think it needs to be a lot tougher to shove in bags and carry around airports. I’m sure it’ll find a use somewhere, maybe a document carrier or useful pouch…

4 thoughts on “Travel wallet – first attempt

Leave a Reply

