Month of Letters – 24th to the end

So Friday night (24th Feb) I did a load of of letter writing and swap sorting, spent a small fortune on postage of Saturday, had visitors on Sunday, then woke up on Monday and decided I really wasn’t well enough to do things like get out of bed. Probably explains my tiredness for the past week… But I have just about posted an item every day this month, with a couple of delays and make up days.

To finish the monthly report – outgoing post:

25th – My final item for the swap-bot ‘month of happy mail’ swap. I made a weeks worth of positive notes and little gifts – 7 notes and gifts individually wrapped. It’s based on another swap I once did and really enjoyed.

I wrote a few nice quotes and some hopefully cheerful notes on a variety of postcards and note cards, then put each note in separate envelopes with a little wrapped gift. I raided my little gifts stash, I hope they enjoy everything. I did forget to pack the chocolate raisins so I’ve eaten them instead!

26th – Technically posted the day before, I sent off a swap for a homemade pillow case. I’ll post about it separately soon.

27th / 28th – I started to recover from my cold/ flu type thing to realise there’s 3 birthdays coming up in the next week or so! So I dug out a few cards, and added a little gift and letter to one to a penfriend. There’s only 1 I’m fully confident will arrive in time!

The round-up:

In February I’ve posted 31 items to 10 different countries – UK, USA, India, Netherlands, Slovenia, Italy, Germany, Russia, Turkey, and Australia. I’ve spent £47.32 in postage. I have one letter to write still outstanding that I feel a little guilty for being so slow to reply to, but it’s a first letter and I want to do a good job of it.

I don’t as fully track incoming post, just enjoy it and blog about it occasionally, but I’ve had a whole mix of stuff. I don’t think I’ve received more than normal despite sending nearly every day, but maybe that benefit will come as replies over time.
I’ve also realised I do much better at keeping to resolutions when I have a challenge to meet, even if there’s no competition or consequences. Maybe especially then, it’s just me trying to be better but not stressing over anything extra. I don’t have great will-power or determination so I need something else as well… The next challenge begins as the last one ends – now it’s Lent! Can I really fully give up milk instead of the half-way I’ve been doing for years? And will it make much difference? Let’s find out…

2 thoughts on “Month of Letters – 24th to the end

    • I use Swap-bot for larger swaps, there’s swaps for just about everything! I have used the Postcrossing forum but there’s no accountability if people don’t send the items.

      Like

Leave a Reply

