Slice and bake biscuits

It’s been a while since I did any baking, but I’ve given up milk in all things for lent (with slight exceptions for a few social events and a holiday because I need a social life and a trip away too much) and the main things I can’t get around are sweet things. I went to a cafe and missed out on cake! I am truly making sacrifices 🙂 There are some dairy free options in the supermarket but they’re primarily gluten free and often a little odd so I decided to take action – with dairy free spread instead of butter obviously.

I’ve posted about these type of biscuits before, they’re a really easy way to keep a stash of ready-to-cook deliciousness. I made the last large batch at the start of October and they were finally finished in mid-December. Also useful if there’s only one of you who would otherwise have to eat all of them within a few days or (the horror of it) share them. I last made some to this recipe, and recently discovered this recipe from A Beautiful Mess for a vanilla and thyme version. I used rosemary because in my kitchen it was that or Herbes de Provence… I also made a second batch with honeycomb pieces. They’re all delicious but this time I’m finding it much harder than I remember to slice the dough when the biscuit logs are straight out of the freezer. The recipes are very similar (and both taste really good) and the only difference I can see is that the second recipe contains slightly more butter – I don’t know enough about baking to know if it could make the difference. Much defrosting to soften it and I’m finding the dough becomes sticky and squishy. Once I’ve munched my way though this batch I’ll try the other recipe again for a comparison.

Slight issue with the honeycomb pieces – they caramelise and leave gooey holes in the biscuits, but also create toffee like patches so no complaints!

For the vanilla and rosemary version I used a mix of vanilla sugar, ground vanilla beans from a little pre-loaded grinder I have, and vanilla essence. All together it smells and tastes great! It’s not a flavour I’d have thought of but the delicate herbal taste is lovely and very moreish.

Any biscuits with hot chocolate is a great combination! Now I’m off to bake a few more…

One thought on “Slice and bake biscuits

Leave a Reply

