Baby bunting

DSC04688

DSC04687

A penfriend had a baby recently, and I wanted to make something to send. As soon as she said the nursery theme was coral, mint and vintage I thought of the Moda Lullaby fabric collection – the right colours and designed to be soft and cute! (It’s not as orange as it looks in some of the photos). I wanted to make something small because I had to post it, and as the name was already decided bunting seemed like a pretty but not too complicated make.

 

The bunting was made from part of a layer cake of fabric and a basic triangle template. The flowers and letters were attached with Bondaweb and outlined using free motion machine embroidery. The lace, beads, buttons and tops of the flags were hand sewn. I found the hardest stage to be finishing the tops of the flags neatly, there’s a few not so neat corners hidden under the buttons that join the bunting together!

I sent it registered post because I’d hate for it to get lost somewhere. I hope she likes it – it might be a while before I hear back, apparently babies need a lot of attention 🙂

Leave a Reply

