Embroidered Father’s Day card

As I’m working on a big birthday gift I just didn’t have capacity to make a Father’s Day gift as well, so I decided I should at least make a card. Thinking is going a bit slowly at the moment so it took a while to think of a good theme, but I settled on a bird and baby bird because it’s appropriate and easy 🙂

I found the main bird design doing a quick Google search and liked the heart detail of the wing. The fabric pieces were attached with Bondaweb and stitched using free motion machine embroidery, except for the nest where I used a standard zigzag stitch to imitate twigs and struggled to go around the corners! The eyes are made from seed beads. Then the whole lot was stuck to a blank postcard and and I used a zigzag stitch around the edge. I’m pleased with how it turned out for a quick project and I’m sure Daddy bird will appreciate a card from baby bird 😛

Leave a Reply

