Origami wallet letter

I can’t be the only person who looks at things and thinks “that would make some great interesting snail mail”, like the instructions for this origami wallet I saw recently whilst scrolling through some blogs.

The original pattern uses A4 paper, I was trying to make the wallet deeper to hold a letter by using scrapbooking paper, but I just made it wider… needs a bit more experimenting! The paper can’t be too stiff or it starts to tear instead fold and tuck under, but patterned scrapbook paper makes a really bright wallet. 

There’s a main pocket to hold notes/letters, and a front cut out that’s perfect for stashing extra little goodies likes stickers, tags and die-cuts. I used a paper clip to stop anything from getting lost in the pocket 🙂

And it all folds up to be tucked in an envelope!

This fun letter is on its way to Canada to a new creative penfriend, but I think I’ll be making a few more!

Leave a Reply

